Skip to content Northern Virginia Resource Center for Deaf & Hard of Hearing Persons

Hearing Loss Association of America – 2011 Award Winners

The following awards were presented at the Awards Breakfast and Ceremony hosted by Diana Bender on Sunday, June 19: 



National Access – The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

Dr. James B. Snow, Jr. – James F. Battey, M.D., Ph.D., Director of National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders,

National Institutes of Health

President’s – Stephen Julstrom, Julstrom Consulting & Development

Service – David Gayle (Maryland), Ann Thomas (California), Fox Valley Chapter (Wisconsin) and HLA-WI

Advocacy Hall of Fame – Joseph Gordon, New York

Outstanding Young Adult – Melissa Pardo, Pennsylvania

Marcia Dugan Chapter/State Advocacy – Audrey Pleasant, Wisconsin

Spirit of HLAA – Michael Fury (NC), Toni Iacolucci (NY), Robert Leepa (MD), Sr. Ann Rooney (CA), Robert Zastrow (CA)

Community Service – Hearing Loss Association of Pennsylvania

Family Involvement – Joe Meyer, Pennsylvania

Rocky Stone Endowment Scholarships – Malik El-Amin (CA) and Reema Radwan (CA)

Starkey Laboratories Young Adult Scholarships – Kelly Laatsch (MI), Lucy Crabtree (KS), Suzannah Dirickson (VA), Danielle Nicosia (NY),

Clayton O’Neill (OH), Brian Richter (PA)

Silent Call Scholarship – Liza Knowles (OR)

Chapter/State Scholarships – Boston Young Adult Chapter (MA), Amanda Burnside (TN), Lisa Yuan (CA),

Greater St. Louis Chapter (MO): Lorraine Van Horne (NY)

Harrisburg Chapter (PA): Dawn Spero (PA)

Montgomery County Chapter (MD): Netagene Kirkpatrick (AL)

D. Max McCarthy, M.A., CCC-A Scholarship: Becky Hague (AZ)

Bob Branigin Scholarship Fund: Jul Lynn Parsons (CA)

Founder’s Day Recognition: Chattanooga Chapter, TN ($500); East Bay Chapter, CA ($500); Greater St. Louis Chapter ($500):

Peninsula Chapter ($500); Long Beach/Lakewood Chapter ($500)




Nancy Wessner Outstanding State Chapters Coordinator: Debbie Mohney (CO)

Chapter Professional Advisor Support: Jennifer Schuck, Fountain Hills Chapter (AZ)

Chapter Newsletter: Los Angeles Chapter (CA) – Lisa Yuan, Editor; Rochester Chapter (NY) – Ginger Graham, Editor

Chapter Website: Chattanooga Chapter (TN)

Phoenix: Augusta Chapter (GA)




State Organization – Hearing Loss Association of Florida

State Newsletter – Hearing Loss Association of Oregon

State Website – Hearing Loss Association of Washington

State Chapter Coordinators, Retiring – Paula Esterle (KY), Mary Fredericks (NY), Russell Green (PA-Eastern), Larry Kavanaugh (FL),

Vernice Mead (OK)

State Coordinators, Incoming – Jeff Bonnell (GA), Debra Cannon (PA-Eastern), Ginny Clark-Wright (AZ), Cindy Jagger (CA-North),

Judy Martin (FL), Anne Taylor (GA)




2010 Locations and Walk Chairs

Chattanooga, TN – Betty Proctor

Chicago, IL – Ronnie Adler

Dayton/Cincinnati, OH – Cathy Kooser and Leslie Iannarino

Houston, TX – Karen Davin

Littleton, CO -- Debbie Mohney

Mid-Hudson, NY – Pam Foody

Milford, MI – Janet Haines and Barb Quart

Milwaukee, WI – Jean Szabo and Caroline Ludka

New York, NY – Suzanne D’Amico and Toni Iacolucci

Philadelphia, PA -- Debra Cannon

Rochester, NY – Peter Fackler

Salt Lake City, UT – Robin Traveller and Chelle George

San Francisco, CA – Raegene Castle and Bob Hall

Washington, DC – Rebecca Lander

Westchester, NY – Roberta Seidner and Steve Wolfert

West Windsor, NJ – Lois Walker

Wyoming, MI – Bill Waring and Chris Jacques


Walk4Hearing Award: Chattanooga Chapter